Pollutants Monitored

Air pollutants such as ammonia, carbon monoxide, oxides of nitrogen, ozone, sulphur dioxide , hydrogen sulphide, total reduced sulphur, particulate matter (PM2.5 and PM10) and hydrocarbons are monitored on a continuous basis at air quality monitoring stations in Alberta. Hourly concentrations of these pollutants are stored in the airdata warehouse.

Other air pollutants such as particulates (TSP, PM10 and PM2.5), polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons and over 150 volatile organic compounds are monitored on an intermittent basis (every sixth day) according the National Air Pollution Surveillance (NAPS) program at select monitoring stations.

Other air pollutants are also collected using passive (no power required) methods to measure concentrations on a monthly basis. In addition to the air quality monitoring program, Alberta Environment Parks also monitors precipitation quality across Alberta.